VETERANS DAY THOUGHTS

According to the Department of Veterans Affairs, of the 16 million World War II Veterans, about 240,000 survive today and, on average, 234 die each day.

I am lucky. My father, Joe Opsitnick, a WWII Navy vet, is alive and vital at 97. I was privileged to drive dad in the Pittsburgh Veterans Day parade on November 11 and then spend the weekend with him, my son and my cousins on an annual guys cards and more weekend.

My childrens’ other grandfather, John LoAlbo, deceased, was a WWII Navy vet as well, being born about six weeks after dad. My wife’s father, Joseph Kmetz, deceased, was a WWII Army combat vet.

It was said of the World War II generation that these were ordinary people performing extraordinary things. One cannot disagree with that statement.

There have been numerous armed conflicts after WW II and the service of all personnel must be recognized and honored.

– Allan Opsitnick

Author: opsitnickslaw

Allan J. Opsitnick J.D. and B.A. Degrees, University of Pittsburgh

Leave a comment